On board the Crazy Train

Before I write update you all, I want and need to say a huge, heartfelt thank you to every one of you who has given me support, shown love, shared kind words, sent me marvellous messages, and helped to keep me going. It has meant a great deal to me, and has helped me to raise a smile on the darkest of days. I’m lucky that anyone gives their time to my ramblings, but that you do, that’s more luck than I deserve.

Enough soppiness? Okay, I’ll fill you all in.

On Tuesday morning I felt very anxious; I wanted to go back to the GP because I wanted more help, but I was terrified I would be disbelieved or, at the other end of the spectrum, be told I would have to be admitted to a psychiatric unit.

When I was called by the doctor, I asked Mum to come in with me, and she followed on behind me, stopping only to hand my repeat prescription. As the door between waiting room and doctors’ rooms slipped shut, and my GP lead me on, the idea of being taken away to a secure unit flashed in my head, making my stomach lurch. Mere moments later, Mum was beside me, and I reminded myself not to overreact – that scenario was wildly unlikely!

Super Mum was silent, but prepared with tissue in hand for almost certain boo-hooing. The GP asked why I was there, and I told her all that had happened recently. I said that the fluoxetine had helped me, but for the past few months, I felt that I had been slipping backwards – crying, mood swings, manic phases. I said that I no longer needed an upper, I needed something to make me stable, and that through research and the testimony of a very reliable friend, I had come to believe Lithium was the best of the mood stabilising drugs.

I had been teary, and needed to take deep breaths, but the deluge of tears Mum and I had both expected stayed away.

GP said what I had been expecting – my psychological needs were now outside of her range of experience and real understanding. I silently steeled myself for “admission to a psychiatric unit”, but, like the tears, it didn’t come. Phew!

She said she would refer me to the Community Mental Health Clinic, which isn’t far away at all. Doctor looked at doubling my dose of Fluoxetine while I waited for my appointment, but decided not to as Floxy + Gabapentin can = seizures. And I could do without that right now.

Doctor said she will tell them that my case is somewhat unusual with EB etc. I think she thinks EB is the main cause of my Bipolar, and I really don’t think it is. But maybe I’ll make discoveries with the psychiatrist at the clinic (who will, I believe, prescribe the best meds for me after a meeting or two). It will also very likely speed up my referral (GP said about two weeks, when I’m told eight is the average for “urgent” cases). Maybe people will think I’m abusing EB to jump the queue, but I don’t really care. Like EB, my BD affects my parents massively, especially my mum, whom I adore.

The sooner I’m not making her cry, or taking up hours of her time as she tries to talk her sobbing wreck of a daughter round, or trying to keep up with my manic projects so that I don’t hurt myself, the better our whole families lives will be.

I’m past being shy of having Bipolar, I’m past being shy that I need medication to get my life back. Because I’m not shy to say I can’t help having BP anymore than I can help having EB, and I Camt so anything about one, I can actively fight the other.

I’m not just fighting for me, I’m fighting for my family and my friends, who have supported and loved me all the way. I’m pulling my gloves on and walking into the ring…

Round One is about to start….

Mel xxx

1 Comment

Filed under Catching up, Disability

One response to “On board the Crazy Train

  1. Hello Mel :) Just wanted to say hi as I follow you on Twitter! Lovely to meet you :)

Leave a Reply

