(What’s the story?) Morning Gory

Last night I was in agony with my foot, to the extent that I genuinely didn’t know what to do with myself. It was happening within a depressive phase of my life with Bipolar, which made it all the worse. You can catch up with it by reading my last post.

Well, I took extra sleeping meds (within the dosage I’m allowed), to enable me to sleep through the pain. So tired I couldn’t sit up straight, me and the Black Dog curled up in bed, and fell in to the deepest sleep I’ve ever had.

I woke up this morning, hearing Bess (my darling little dog) having her fur cut. Honestly, you’d think a wolverine was being tortured, not a a little terrier having her tummy trimmed whilst being cuddled and kissed! I laid in bed, opiate lozenge in my mouth, and waited for Mum to come and help me up. I felt wide awake, and decided to sit on the landing floor to cuddle the now cashmere soft Bess.

All was fine – I was smooched on the nose, and I held her in my lap – then I tried to get up. Because I felt awake, I forgot that the sleeping meds (of which I’d had more than I usually do) are also muscle relaxants. I’d put my wobbling down to the state of my feet, but oh how wrong I was.

I turned to kneel and push myself up…one arm gave out from under me, I grabbed the chair in front of me – forgetting in my panic that it’s a swivel chair – it spun around, my legs collapsed, I unintentionally flipped over and ended up with my head hanging over the top stair.

Poor Mum was stricken. Luckily, as it was ending, Dad came back in from the shops and ran up to help. I sat up, knowing instantly that I’d badly hurt my left elbow, which is already constantly painful, and my left knee, which is my best behaved one.

I was quick to reassure Mum that I was fine – explaining what had happened with the bloody chair and my rubber limbs! There were a few tears as the shock hit me, but then Bess appeared.

She has no understanding of EB. To her, I’m just one of the pack; I give her treats, I play with her when I can, and I give extraordinarily good tummy tickles. She knows when I’m sad, and she’ll stand on my lap, with her paws around my shoulders to cuddle me. Her big liquorice nose snuffling in my ear, her soft whiskers on my cheek.

But as I sat, booing on the floor, she rolled her most treasured possession under my leg…a soggy, grubby, chewed up tennis ball. She wanted me, or Mum, or Dad, to play. And that stopped the tears, because I had to laugh. In the midst of packing for hospital and panicking over what I’d just done, there was a little furry ray of sunshine at our feet. Bessie’s tennis ball is her ecstasy, and she wanted me to have it too.

She was jet black as a pup, but now her Yorkie daddy’s genes have come through, and she’s mostly silvery grey (with a ginger ‘tache!). My little, scruffy Grey Dog chased away the big Black Dog today. He’ll sneak back, but Bess will be there, shining with love and silliness, and she’ll see him off again.

Yesterday, I felt lucky, but I wanted to give my parents their freedom. Today I feel that, once again, something saved me. Something kept me here. Being agnostic, I won’t rule anything out. But I feel that if I keep being saved, there must be something I’m meant to do. I just need to find out what it is.

So until the Black Dog comes crawling back, I’ll have a good think about what I’m here for. Playing with Bess is definitely one of my purposes 🙂

M xxx

My Bessie Bear, chilling in my room, with the tennis ball!

20110816-145426.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Disability

One response to “(What’s the story?) Morning Gory

  1. dogs are very often provide the escape from the Black Dog; thank you for reminding me

Leave a Reply

